Home Award-Winning Magazine Quarterly Newsletter Limited-Edition Portfolios Paper Artist Registry MASTHEAD

Special Auction: David Marshall Estate


Hand Papermaking will conduct a five-day auction of fine book and paper art generously donated by the estate of David Marshall. With opening bids ranging from $5 to $600, over 50 items will go to the highest bidders, in support of our non-profit programs. Preview the items now by reading text descriptions and viewing photos. Get ready to place your bids, beginning September 24 at 2pm Pacific, 5pm Eastern, 10pm GMT.

 


DavidLast year in June our dear friend David Barhydt Marshall Jr. passed away suddenly at his home in Washington, DC. He was only 64 years old. David had a particular passion for decorated papers, broadsides, and fine press books; all of which he avidly collected, and also produced himself in his spare time at home and at annual summer classes. He was a loyal and generous supporter of Hand Papermaking for decades. He served on our board of directors from 2004 to 2009. Hand Papermaking owes an enormous debt of gratitude to David. We will never forget his huge heart, his easy laughter, and his contagious enthusiasm for handmade paper and its community.

Please join us here as we open the bidding on September 24 (his birthday) and help us celebrate the life and legacy of David Marshall.